Iowa Sales Tax Rate Changes, July 2013

Iowa rate changes, July 2013, due to the expiration of LOST tax.

Iowa rate changes, July 2013, due to the expiration of LOST tax.

In addition to the 5% state sales tax, Iowa localities may impose a regular local option sales tax (LOST) that may not exceed 1%. Eventually, these local option sales taxes expire, or more quaintly, “sunset.”

On June 30, 2013, a 1% LOST will sunset in many cities:

Cities with LOST Sunsets include:

  • Brazil, Appanoose County;
  • Darbyville, Appanoose County;
  • Iconium, Appanoose County;
  • Jerome, Appanoose County;
  • Mason City, Cerro Gordo County;
  • Churdan, Greene County;
  • Hills, Johnson County;
  • Iowa City, Johnson County;
  • Lone Tree, Johnson County;
  • Oxford, Johnson County;
  • Shueyville, Johnson County;
  • Solon, Johnson County;
  • Swisher, Johnson County;
  • Tiffin, Johnson County;
  • University Heights, Johnson County;
  • Bentonsport, Van Buren County;
  • Douds, Van Buren County;
  • Leando, Van Buren County;
  • Mount Sterling, Van Buren County;
  • Selma, Van Buren County; and
  • Unincorporated Van Buren County.

The complete list is available at the Iowa Department of Revenue LOST county rates page.

Tracking local rate changes can be taxing. Automation makes it easier.

Get Free Tax Rate Tables



This entry was posted in Sales Tax News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>